Skip to Main Content

Leadership

UMBC’s leaders work to bring to life our community’s vision: to redefine excellence in higher education through an inclusive culture that connects innovative teaching and learning, research across disciplines, and civic engagement.

In addition to those mentioned here, UMBC greatly values the voices and service of faculty, staff, and student leaders across UMBC and the University System of Maryland, including those involved in shared governance.

President
Freeman A. Hrabowski, III
410-455-2274
hrabowski@umbc.edu
Provost & Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
Philip Rous
410-455-2333
rous@umbc.edu
Vice President
Administration & Finance
Lynne Schaefer
410-455-2939
lschaefer@umbc.edu
Dean
College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences
Scott Casper
410-455-2385
casper@umbc.edu
Vice President
Institutional Advancement
Gregory Simmons
410-455-1452
gsimmons@umbc.edu
Dean
College of Natural & Mathematical Sciences
William LaCourse
410-455-5827
lacourse@umbc.edu
Vice President
Research
Karl V. Steiner
410-455-5636
steinerk@umbc.edu
Dean
The Erickson School
Dana Bradley
443-543-5628
bradleyd@umbc.edu
Vice President
Information Technology
John Suess
410-455-2582
jack@umbc.edu
Dean
College of Engineering & Information Technology
Keith Bowman
410-455-3270
kjb@umbc.edu
Vice President
Student Affairs
Nancy Young
410-455-2393
nyoung@umbc.edu
Vice Provost and Dean 
Undergraduate Academic Affairs
Katharine Cole
410-455-2859
kcole@umbc.edu
Vice Provost
Enrollment Management & Planning
Yvette Mozie-Ross
410-455-3799
mozie@umbc.edu
Dean & Vice Provost
Graduate Education
Janet Rutledge
410-455-1781
jrutledge@umbc.edu
Vice Provost 
Division of Professional Studies
Christopher Steele
410-455-6841
csteele@umbc.edu
Vice Provost
Faculty Affairs
Patrice McDermott
410-455-3150
mcdermot@umbc.edu
General Counsel
David Gleason
410-455-2870
gleason@umbc.edu
Vice Provost
Academic Affairs
Antonio Moreira
410-455-6576
moreira@umbc.edu